what books bind you?

Standard

I am desperately looking for a good book!  I am re-reading a book, My Name is Mary Sutter, by Robin Oliveira, because there is so little out there right now.  Is anyone else having this problem?  This book is the first of a series and I do like series.  The best book I’ve read lately and that is also a part of a series is John Sandford‘s new Prey novel, Stolen Prey.  I have read all of the Prey novels and they are wonderful!  I give them high praise.  Sandford keeps finding things to do with Lucas Davenport and even ties in his Virgil Flowers books as well.  They’re also not predictable like some I’ve encountered.  What keeps you bound to books?  What are you reading now?

Some series I like to read when they come out are as follows:

Laurell K. Hamilton‘s Anita Blake vampire hunter series – just published Kiss the Dead.  It was good, but not my favorite Anita Blake title.

Tess Gerritsen‘s Rizzoli/Isles series – John Doe, a Kindle short novel is coming out on Monday, July 23, 2012.  Last to Die is coming out in August, 2012.

Karin Slaughter‘s character Will Trent.  I love this character and the supporting characters.  Criminal came out on July 3rd and read Fallen earlier this year.  Fallen is really good.

Kay Hooper’s Noah Bishop novels – new one entitled The First Prophet coming out November 27, 2012

Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse – these have run there course I think – can’t get into the last one for some reason

Deanna Raybourn‘s Lady Julia Grey novels – unsure when new book coming out

George D. Shuman’s Sherry Moore series – unsure but eagerly awaiting new book

Kathy Reichs Tempe Brennan – new book coming out at the end of this month in paperback entitled Bones Are Forever

and

Jack Kerley‘s Carson Ryder.  Now that’s an interesting character and an ever more interesting family.  He is not even publishing in the U.S. anymore but Her Last Scream is shown on Amazon.  I am going to call the Murder By the Book dealers in Houston, TX on this one.

Are there any series you can’t wait to see?  Have you noticed the small novellas that have started coming out from various authors as e-books?  What do you think of them?  Where do you think the future of sequels lie?

See my earlier post on how to find good books at Book Bindings.

lucygracesmom

About lucygracesmom

I am a mom of one 10 year old and stepmother to three wonderful adults; ages 20, 23 and 25. The youngest child is just beginning Fifth grade at Ashland Elementary in the Gifted/Quest program. She enjoys playing violin, archery and everything scientific. Mary Stewart is beginning her last year of medical school at Case Western in Cleveland. She and her fiancé, Franklin, plan to marry next June! Charles Morgan just graduated from the College of Charleston and will be beginning Post-Baccalaureate work next month. Betsy is living the college dream at Ole Miss in Oxford studying Business and the most fun ways to party. She plans to take the LSAT next summer! We are very blessed in the family department. My husband is a lawyer specializing in Intellectual Property, computer and entertainment law. We are in the eighth year since starting our own business, Montague Law PLLC. I have the title Operational Manager which means the administrative end of the business (yuk) and now some new and fun work on the firm's website. We live in Lexington, KY or as many know it – horse country. Everything around here is horse-themed and it is a very beautiful area to live in and raise a family. I have many interests that span art, sciences, education, books, computer science and security and one of my greatest passions is design. One of my favorite blogs is Grace Bonney’s Design Sponge. I like living the simple life, spending time with my family and reading and writing about my interests in my blog. One of my hopes in developing this blog is to share with you the many things I enjoy so that you may enjoy them too. I love sharing cool information with people who appreciate it. I like pinning on Pinterest, keeping track of my high school friends, college friends and family on Facebook and don’t tell anyone, but I sometimes re-shelve books at the library because I enjoy it.

2 responses »

  1. I just posted a book of summer reads on my blog. My favorite so far this year (besides “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand) is “Let’s Pretend this Never Happened” by Jenny Lawson. HILARIOUS! I couldn’t stop laughing out loud and my husband and I literally fought over this book and whose turn it was to read it. I also really liked “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed.

Leave a Reply

