Emerald Ash Borer and Pottery Barn

Standard

I have been educated in the last several days.  I had heard of the Emerald Ash Borer before, but did not realize we had Ash trees (I know.  Who doesn’t know what kind of trees are in their back yard?) and I certainly didn’t know the Ash trees in our area are being and need to be inoculated.  Yes, shots are being given to trees.  I am all for taking care of nature, but I had no idea trees could and should be inoculated against particular larvae.  Gross.  Do you have any idea how much it is to inoculate against the emerald ash borer?  Let me just say it’s not cheap.  Any arborists out there who want to weigh in on this?

See emerald ash borer and emerald ash borer Kentucky

Pottery Barn kids is on my sh*t list right now.  My daughter is starting Kindergarten on August 15th.  I have ordered a backpack and a lunch bag for my daughter that is special and monogrammed with her name on them.  The original order was made one month before school was to start on July 14, 2012.  On July 20, 2012 I received a backpack and lunch bag with the name Lucy Grac on them.  Yes, really, Lucy Grac.  I was livid because I went through half an hour of a “paper order” since the name was so long.  When I chatted with Ron on a live chat on the Pottery Barn Kids web site I was assured a new backpack and lunch bag were ordered.  I followed directions and sent back the Lucy Grac merchandise.  Two days after Ron told me our correct backpack and lunch bag were to arrive, I did live chat again with Charlotte this time.  When I gave my order number she told me the order I placed with Ron was cancelled by the supplier due to the name being too long.  She also told me the first “paper” order I made was done incorrectly.  Charlotte began chatting about the unknown “A-batch” special order.  I was about to ask for my money back, but my stubbornness took over and I gave Charlotte another try.  If I don’t have my backpack and lunch bag by next Thursday I am getting my credit and moving on.  Am I crazy?

About lucygracesmom

I am a mom of one 9 year old and stepmother to three wonderful adults; ages 19, 22 and 24. The youngest child is in Fourth grade at Maxwell, a Spanish Immersion school in Lexington, KY. She enjoys playing violin and everything scientific. Mary Stewart is well into her third year of medical school at Case Western in Cleveland; Charles Morgan is beginning his final semester at College of Charleston; Betsy is living the college dream at Ole Miss in Oxford studying Business and the most fun ways to party. We are very blessed in the family department. My husband is a lawyer specializing in Intellectual Property, computer and entertainment law. We are in the seventh year since starting our own business, Montague Law PLLC. I have the title Operational Manager which means the administrative end of the business (yuk). We live in Lexington, KY or as many know it – horse country. Everything around here is horse and it is a very beautiful area to live in and to raise a family. I have a great many interests that span art, sciences, education, books, film, computer sciences and security and my greatest passion is design. One of my favorite blogs is Grace Bonney’s Design Sponge. I like living the simple life, spending time with my family and reading and writing about my interests in my blog. One of my hopes in developing this blog is to share with you the many things I enjoy so that you may enjoy them too. I love sharing cool information with people who appreciate it. I like pinning on Pinterest, keeping track of my high school friends, college friends and family on Facebook and don’t tell anyone, but I sometimes re-shelve books at the library because I enjoy it.

One response »

Leave a Reply

