Living Scared

Standard

He was alright when I left.

It only happened once.

That’s the diagnosis.

It’s a sickness – a disease

They seem to kick the habit

but it keeps on coming back

It’s a horror.  It’s a sickness

It’s a shame to be so weak.

I have been in deep reflection over the past couple of weeks over several topics.  There are a number of people in trouble swirling around me and they seem to be dangling by a thread.  Let me start by saying I have always been easy to talk to so I have been a sounding board for all types of issues.  Maybe one reason is it’s so easy to get in touch these days with the different types of social media.

Let me first say this topic disgusts me, but I see how some people can make choices and get themselves into situations that are very dangerous.  The choices seem to multiply and before long there seems to be no way out.  I am here to tell you there is a way out.  You may be too proud to admit it but are you or someone close to you living scared?

So let me be blunt.  What is it about men hitting women and pushing them around?  In the last couple of weeks I have been educated on this issue through a girlfriend of an old friend.  It’s a long story, but when women are more concerned about men cheating on them than them hitting them in the face something is desperately wrong.

I am ashamed to admit staying in relationships due to circumstances and maybe this is no different, but this woman is a self-sufficient woman who owns her own home.  He is essentially living there.  No more than a guest.  She’s contemplating marriage if you can believe it.  But she wants to make double sure he’s not cheating on her.  She doesn’t want advice on the hitting part, just if he’s been “hitting on” anyone else.  Couldn’t resist the inappropriate pun.  Can you weigh in on this?  I know she’s not the only one going through this in the world.  What is this behavior about and how do people get to this point?

I decided to “opt out” of the situation and not be involved, even as a sounding board for the woman.  Did I make the right decision?  I did make myself clear the real issue is the violence not the cheating.  How does this story make you feel?

About lucygracesmom

I am a mom of one 9 year old and stepmother to three wonderful adults; ages 19, 22 and 24. The youngest child is in Fourth grade at Maxwell, a Spanish Immersion school in Lexington, KY. She enjoys playing violin and everything scientific. Mary Stewart is well into her third year of medical school at Case Western in Cleveland; Charles Morgan is beginning his final semester at College of Charleston; Betsy is living the college dream at Ole Miss in Oxford studying Business and the most fun ways to party. We are very blessed in the family department. My husband is a lawyer specializing in Intellectual Property, computer and entertainment law. We are in the seventh year since starting our own business, Montague Law PLLC. I have the title Operational Manager which means the administrative end of the business (yuk). We live in Lexington, KY or as many know it – horse country. Everything around here is horse and it is a very beautiful area to live in and to raise a family. I have a great many interests that span art, sciences, education, books, film, computer sciences and security and my greatest passion is design. One of my favorite blogs is Grace Bonney’s Design Sponge. I like living the simple life, spending time with my family and reading and writing about my interests in my blog. One of my hopes in developing this blog is to share with you the many things I enjoy so that you may enjoy them too. I love sharing cool information with people who appreciate it. I like pinning on Pinterest, keeping track of my high school friends, college friends and family on Facebook and don’t tell anyone, but I sometimes re-shelve books at the library because I enjoy it.

2 responses »

  1. Stay by your friend’s side – without judgment or conditions. You can provide a type of sanctuary to this troubled person struggling in a fierce personal storm. She needs help (like professional counseling), but she also needs a friend who lives the type of healthy life she deserves. Express concern and fear to her without judging her or her relationship. Just my thought…as a man who is disgusted with other men who treat women with such disdain. So sad…

  2. I firmly believe God made you easy to talk to for several reasons, but the main reason is He knows you will turn what you have heard into a prayer back to Him. You will seek assistance for someone, you will ask for advice to help someone, the list goes on and on.

    Your friend is being cheated on, she is being cheated out of feeling safe, feeling free, feeling protected, he is cheating her out of her life which sounds like she worked very hard to achieve. TobyMac commented about a situation like this during his Eye On It Tour, he said “kick him to the curb” then went on to sing “Gone.”

    Sad but your friend needs someone to speak her future to her. Someone who has been in her shoes.

Leave a Reply

